Skip to main content
E-Learning Platforms Last update: Jul 16, 2024

BBC Maestro: Is It Worth it?

Learn From Celebrity Instructors

Starting from

£79 ($89)

Best for

  • Generous Refund Policy
  • Lifetime Access
Photo of Catherine Cooke

Written by

Catherine Cooke

Catherine Cooke

Upskillwise Advisor

I'm Catherine, originally from London, now living in Spain. My professional journey led me from being a certified teacher to a yoga instructor and then a freelancer designer. These changes were made possible by online learning platforms like Skillshare and Coursera. It wasn't always easy, but so worth it and inspired me to start Upskillwise.

Photo of Catherine Cooke

Upskillwise.com is fully supported by its readers. If you register or buy a course using our links, we may receive a commission. This does not affect our ratings, methodology or partners.

Are you looking for exciting new ways to learn? Let me introduce you to BBC Maestro, an online learning platform that offers inspiring courses across a range of creative topics, from writing and wellness to music and beyond. Much like MasterClass, BBC Maestro features courses taught by celebrity experts who share their knowledge and passion. Whether you’re a budding writer, a wellness enthusiast, or even looking for a complete career change, there is likely to be something here to spark your interest and creativity.

Take Our Quiz: Single Course Vs Annual Plan?

Catherine Cooke author of the post and education and freelance expert

To make this BBC Maestro review as useful and insightful as possible, I’ve spent considerable time researching its courses, celebrity instructors, pricing structure, and refund policy, and have also reviewed feedback from past BBC Maestro users. My Master’s degree in Teaching and Education, along with my extensive experience with online learning platforms, has equipped me to craft this detailed review.

Catherine CookeUpskillwise Advisor

BBC Maestro User Reviews

8 reviews

4.0
  • Denis

    12 July 2024, 04:16

    4.0

    Just the platform I've been looking for, its video lessons are entertaining and easy to fit in around my busy schedule. Love that I can do it at my own pace, and it's fun learning at my own pace!

  • Jonathan

    12 July 2024, 04:11

    3.0

    I recently got the annual subscription and really enjoyed a handful of the courses especially the business course from Peter Jones. I just wish there were more courses to choose from. Hoping they will add some new courses soon.

  • Laura

    11 July 2024, 05:09

    4.0

    I'm a big fan of the BBC, so when I found out they were offering online courses, I just had to give it a try. I'm enjoying it so much, I've even gifted a subscription to my daughter!

  • Greg

    11 July 2024, 05:07

    4.0

    I recently finished the Marco Pierre White cooking course. I really enjoyed the video lessons and he had some really useful tips. I really liked that the video lessons were each under 5 minutes, so super easy to follow, and the PDF booklet was excellent!

  • Harry

    2 July 2024, 09:37

    3.0

    I've enjoyed taking a course with BBC Maestro, but it didn't completely wow me. The courses have some really amazing and inspiring instructors, but I'm not sure it really it has met my learning goals.

  • Raquel

    2 July 2024, 09:34

    4.0

    BBC Maestro has been a great learning experience for me. I loved the flexibility of being able to learn at my own pace. At times, I felt the video lessons were a little slow, but overall, it was worth it!

  • Karen

    2 July 2024, 08:25

    5.0

    So happy I found BBC Maestro! This platform is exactly what I was looking for, I love the variety of courses and categories and excited to try out some of the writing and cooking courses.

  • Bill

    2 July 2024, 08:16

    5.0

    I recently took Steven Bartlett's course and feel so inspired now to start my own business. I really like how engaging the video lessons are. It's a course that is perfect if you're like me and starting your own business, but also think it's beneficial for anyone looking to grow an already successful business. Highly recommend!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating*

BBC Maestro Summary

BBC Maestro is best known for its creative courses and celebrity instructors. Its courses are beginner-friendly, engaging, and highly produced, so you’ll be hooked from the start. The platform offers a vibrant range of categories, from writing and wellness to art & design, and much more. With a library of over 35 courses across 7 diverse categories, there’s something for everyone. Each course features between 19 and 35 video lessons, with each lesson lasting between 5 and 20 minutes, making learning both manageable and enjoyable.

You can purchase an individual course for £79 ($89), which includes lifetime access and a 14-day money-back guarantee if you change your mind. Alternatively, an annual subscription plan is available for £120 ($120), offering unlimited access to all courses and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Whether you’re looking to explore a new hobby or deepen your expertise, BBC Maestro provides a rich, immersive learning experience guided by some of the world’s most renowned experts.

Visit BBC Maestro

Pros & Cons

Pros

Celebrity Instructors

Learn from celebrity instructors like David Walliams and Steven Bartlett, who bring first-hand industry knowledge.

High-Quality Production

Its videos lessons are beautifully shot and produced, so users will be guaranteed an engaging learning experience.

Generous Refund

Both the individual course and annual subscription offer generous refund policies from 14 days to 30 days.

Lifetime Access

If you purchase the individual course, you’ll get lifetime access to revisit and review the course material as many times as you like.

New Courses

It does a great job at regularly adding new courses to its catalog list.

Cons

No Free Courses

Sadly, no official free courses or trials are available.

Higher Cost

The cost of the subscription may seem expensive when you consider the number of courses available.

No Certificates

If you’re after a certificate after completing, BBC Maestro doesn’t offer them, it may be worth checking out platforms like Coursera.

BBC Maestro Pricing

BBC Maestro has a couple of options for purchasing its courses. You can either buy an individual course for £79 ($89), or you can sign up for its annual subscription for £120 ($120). Both options come with a money-back guarantee, so if you do change your mind, you can be rest assured you’re entitled to a full refund. In the table below, I’ve summed up everything in the table below.

BBC Maestro Pricing Individual Course Annual Subscription
Price £79 ($89) £120 ($120)
No. of Courses 1 course 35+ courses
Free Trial N/A N/A
Money-back guarantee 14-days 30-days

BBC Maestro Pricing
BBC Maestro Pricing

​​

For a more detailed breakdown of BBC Maestro’s pricing, please check out our comprehensive pricing guide. It covers everything you need to know!

BBC Maestro Categories

BBC Maestro offers 7 main categories, from writing to home & lifestyle. Within each category is a handful of courses, 35+ in total. Even though it may not have as much choice as platforms like MasterClass and Skillshare, there are still plenty of options to keep you busy. Each course focuses on a unique topic and taught by a celebrity instructor, which you’re able to download to watch on the move.

BBC Maestro Categories
BBC Maestro Categories

BBC Maestro in Detail

Criteria

Comment

Ease of Use ?

4.5

BBC Maestro is easy to use, as it’s well-structured, and the user experience is smooth.

Opening an account is also easy, you’ll just need to set up an account, adding your name, email and creating a password.

Convenience ?

4.5

BBC Maestro courses can be watched at any time. You can watch on a computer, TV, phone or tablet. Or you even have the option to download video lessons for offline viewing on your device using the app, it makes learning really convenient, especially if you’re travelling or on the go.

Available Platforms

4.3

BBC Maestro has an app for both Apple and Android devices. With a rating of 4.8 on the App Store and a 4.1 on Google Play.

Certifications ?

BBC Maestro doesn’t offer accredited certificates or certificates when you complete one of its courses. If you are looking to earn one, it’s best to check out platforms like Coursera or edX.

Categories ?

4.5

BBC Maestro currently offers 7 categories which include; Writing, Food & Drink, Wellness, Film TV & The Stage, Business, Art & Design, Music, Home & Lifestyle. Within those 7 categories are 35+ courses.

Free Courses

2

It doesn’t offer any free trial or free courses, but you can sign up for a free taster lesson. This is just to give you a teaser of what to expect from the platform.

Content Quality ?

4.3

BBC Maestro creates its own content with celebrity and expert instructors. The production of its video lessons is of the highest level.

You’ll have the option to download the course guide, which is ideal if you’re looking to recap or revisit any of the video lessons.

Languages ?

4

Its courses are only available in English with subtitles in English.

Instructors ?

5

BBC Maestro has celebrity instructors teaching its courses, this is a major draw for many learners who are looking to learn from celebrities they idolize or are inspired by.

Course Requirements ?

4

There aren’t any formal requirements for the classes, anyone can join, and no prior experience is needed.

Course Structure ?

4

Each course varies in length and the number of video lessons. The majority of courses are between 4 and 8 hours in total and have around 20 or so video lessons. Each video lesson is bite sized to keep you engaged and allows you to fit it around your schedule.

Quizzes and Tests ?

3

BBC Maestro doesn’t have any quizzes or tests, and learners won’t be assessed during their learning experience. The focus is to get inspired and motivated and learn from your VIP instructor.

Payments and Refunds

4

BBC Maestro offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on its annual subscription and a 14-day refund on its individual courses, only if you haven’t started to watch the course.

Support ?

3

BBC Maestro has a contact page, where you can send them a message.

Overall Rating ?

4.3

BBC Maestro is an online learning platform worth considering if you’re looking to be taught by celebrity and expert instructors. Its courses are produced to the highest standard and its lists of categories are inspiring and will keep you engaged.

It is true that it doesn’t offer the most extensive list of courses when you compare it to other online learning platforms. Plus it offers a flexible payment plan for an individual course or a subscription plan and its refund policy of 14 days or 30 days is available, in case you change your mind.

How To Open A BBC Maestro Account?

To register with BBC Maestro is super easy, all you need to do is follow these easy steps:

  1. Open a browser and visit www.bbcmaestro.com
  2. Click ‘Subscribe to BBC Maestro’ or ‘Buy Single Course’
  3. Add your Name, Email and Create a Password
  4. Click ‘Set Up My Account’
  5. Finally, add your card details

 

My BBC Maestro Experience

When I first explored the BBC Maestro catalog, Steven Bartlett’s course, ‘The 16 Steps to Start and Scale a Multi-Million-Dollar Business’, immediately caught my eye. As a big fan of his, I was excited to dive in. The video lessons are bite-sized and incredibly easy to fit into a busy schedule. At just 3.5 hours total, I was able to watch them over the course of a week, putting time aside each evening.

Steven’s approach to teaching is engaging and motivating. He sets exercises at the end of many lessons, which keeps you actively involved in the learning process. However, I did feel that the exercises could benefit from a written visual prompt. This would make it easier to pause and follow along, especially since the exercises often require a pen and notepad. I found myself having to replay sections multiple times to catch all the details.

The course also includes a PDF booklet, which is a handy addition. It’s great for refreshing your memory of the lessons and exercises. Overall, Steven’s course is highly motivating and really helps you focus on your business goals. Whether you’re aiming to build a profitable business or just want to turn a hobby into a potential venture, you’ll gain valuable insights and tips.

BBC Maestro Alternatives

MasterClass

Learn From VIP Instructors

4.7

Mindvalley

Best for Personal Growth

4.6

Skillshare

Best For Creative Courses

4.5

If you’re exploring other options besides BBC Maestro, we recommend reading our comparison article on BBC Maestro vs MasterClass.

BBC Maestro: Last Thoughts

Let’s sum up everything we’ve talked about in this BBC Maestro review.

It goes without saying that the quality of BBC Maestro courses is top-notch, with content that’s both engaging and designed to inspire learners. The platform aims not only to educate, but also to motivate users to pursue their interests and passions. The presence of celebrity instructors adds significant appeal, especially if you idolize or are inspired by them.

However, BBC Maestro does have some drawbacks. The catalog isn’t the most extensive, offering just over 35 courses across seven categories, which may seem limited compared to other platforms. Additionally, the lack of free courses or a free trial might make some hesitant to join. Another downside is that you won’t receive an accredited certificate upon completing a course.

In summary, BBC Maestro does excel in delivering high-quality, inspirational content from renowned experts, but it’s important to be mindful of its limitations. Remember, if you are ready to commit to an individual course or a subscription plan, you’ll have the option of a refund if you do change your mind.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please feel free to leave a comment below. It would be my pleasure to help guide you through your online learning journey.

BBC Maestro FAQs

Yes, BBC Maestro courses are definitely worth it. They offer a unique opportunity to learn from some of the best in the industry, with instructors who are acclaimed experts in their fields. The courses are produced with the BBC’s high standards, ensuring top-notch quality and engaging content. Each course provides comprehensive and in-depth material, making it easy to understand and apply what you’ve learned. Additionally, the flexibility of self-paced learning allows you to fit the courses into your schedule, making them a valuable investment for anyone looking to expand their knowledge and skills.

BBC Maestro is currently available in the following countries: United Kingdom, Isle of Man, Ireland, Jersey, Guernsey, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Canada, India, Brazil, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, Portugal, Singapore, Hong Kong, UAE, and the USA.